For over twenty-five years, New Welsh Review has been central to the Welsh literary scene in offering a vital outlet for the very best new fiction, creative non-fiction and poetry, a forum for critical debate, and a rigorous and engaged reviewing culture. The magazine’s creative content was rebranded as New Welsh Reader in May 2015 and published three times a year, with reviews and comment moving entirely online. The magazine and access to all online content is available via subscription from £16.99 a year via Direct Debit

New Welsh Review has published some of the greatest writers and thinkers from Wales and beyond; including Dannie Abse, JIm Perrin, John Harrison, Cynan Jones, Gwyneth Lewis, Les Murray, Rachel Trezise, Niall Griffiths, Owen Sheers, Horatio Clare, Robert Minhinnick, Chris Meredith, Mary-Ann Constantine, Jem Poster, Jay Griffiths, Byron Rogers, and Gillian Clarke.

Today, New Welsh Review holds true to its original mission statement: to be dynamic, curious, lively, and outward-looking; to commemorate the past, but to also celebrate contemporary excellence and new directions. The New Welsh Writing Awards are just one way in which we are broadening our reach and commitment to new writing.

The magazine is supported through core funding from the Welsh Books Council. New Welsh Review is hosted by the Department of English and Creative Writing at Aberystwyth University.



New Welsh Review, PO Box 170, Aberystwyth, Ceredigion SY23 1WZ

Tel: 01970 628410   Email:

If you would like to subscribe to the magazine (subscription starts at £16.99 a month), or find out more about New Welsh Review, visit